Hot Fuzz Movie Review

hot fuzz

Oh man!! I watched this movie with a totally different mindset. I knew it was a satire, on the conventional cop and action movies. But I didn’t estimate that it’ll be a spoof! And a really sad one indeed!

By the end of the movie, I thought, WTF is wrong with IMDB and Rotten Tomatoes! I know that I’m not yet a full-fledged movie buff having an eye for detail but I definitely do not qualify being among the other half mortals who watch movies mindlessly!

Anyways, coming to the movie, it was definitely funny in parts. The initial “How is your hand” scenes, Angel’s conversation with his masked wife, the chasing a shoplifter scene where Danny just dashes through the barriers, the kissing scene in Martin and Eve’s play and few others here and there. Other than that, there is nothing much to watch!

The only intended pun that was also delivered was in the end when Angel says “I feel like saying something heroic”, like it happens in every movie. That was funny!

*Spoiler alert*

Suspense? It isn’t exactly a twist. But the part where we initially believe that Danny is involved too…that does count as a “Twist”. The climax fight sequence, umm, how do I put it in a subtle way…was downright pathetic! I understand that as a spoof, you were to make unrealistic heroic moves to know how ridiculous some cop action movies are, but Edgar Wright’s version was umm…not funny exactly!

*End of spoiler*

Overall, the script is just forced. Anyways, if you are bored to death and you wish to watch something mindlessly, watch Hot Fuzz. Else, better to skip it!

About Maya

Bored of the tedium and tired of the rut, I look for shelter in my imaginary hut; Behind these veils of propriety and decorum, I desperately seek a liberating forum; In my words and humor you'll find fire But beware and warned, It's all just Maya! Come, see my world through my window..

Posted on April 28, 2015, in Movie Reviews and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

