Annie Hall

Woody Allen, you genius! It isn’t your idea that inspires me, it isn’t your movie, it isn’t your character, it isn’t your lead lady, It is just you! You and your beautiful words that resonates well within every work of yours.

Hmm, where were we?? Yes, the movie!! Annie Hall.

annie-hall-1977-08-g

The movie starts with a monologue, with Alvy saying he broke up with Annie and when he looks back at it, he doesn’t what went wrong and where! Story of everyone’s life isn’t it?

It’s how he says:

“It reminds me of that old joke- you know, a guy walks into a psychiatrist’s office and says, hey doc, my brother’s crazy! He thinks he’s a chicken. Then the doc says, why don’t you turn him in? Then the guy says, I would but I need the eggs. I guess that’s how I feel about relationships. They’re totally crazy, irrational, and absurd, but we keep going through it because we need the eggs.”

I will try not to add any spoiler in this review, it is beautiful when you watch it without anyone else putting ideas in your head.

Some of the great shots in this movie were when we say characters visiting their past and the present life characters staying right there observing and commenting on it. It is reliving your past. When Alvy revisits his earlier marriage and relation in his narration, the flow is very seamless. You bounce back and come to present again in a jiffy. Makes you stay focussed and not lose interest.

Another great scene was with the therapist, when the sessions of both Annie and Alvy was shown in parallel frames. they were asked same questions and we note the same answer meaning different to both of them. They speak simultaneously and it was just a treat to watch!! This is one of the best scenes not just in Annie Hall but in Cinema as such. Comes close to the last scene of Cinema Paradiso that I just loved!

The lobster scene was so ……what should I say…tender?? You know, when you sometimes think of instances in your life with your loved ones that bring a smile to your face? This scene was among the ones which Woody Allen showed to us and we would still smile, for them! In fact, their meeting scene and the way they take it ahead was so breezy, kind of natural. 2 people, 2 contrasts, one broods over his life and obsessed with death and the other who is lively and accepts life as it comes. You feel connected to Annie and Alvy throughout.

I would always remember this movie with that one line ” I would never want to be a part of a club that has members like me!”- intelligently witty!!

The last scene of the movie, where Alvy makes a play of his own life, rather ending it in a perfect way and says ” What do you want, it’s my first play. You know how you want things to come out perfectly because it is real difficult in life”. That was an amazing statement. And the ending scenes…even though they break up, you never feel bad for them.

Well, It is only Woody Allen who can be sad in real life, make a semi autobiographical movie and yet make you feel good about watching it!!

About Maya

Bored of the tedium and tired of the rut, I look for shelter in my imaginary hut; Behind these veils of propriety and decorum, I desperately seek a liberating forum; In my words and humor you'll find fire But beware and warned, It's all just Maya! Come, see my world through my window..

Posted on May 16, 2015, in Movie Reviews and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

