Daily Quote-07

“Life is so Ironic. It takes sadness to know happiness, noise to appreciate silence, and absence to value presence.”

-Unknown

It  has happened with me innumerable times, I wish to show gratitude to someone or speak a word of kindness to an old acquaintance or apologize to a long lost friend, but in a hurry to live “in” the moment, I often forget to do it. It so happened sometime in 2009. I was sitting at my home, thinking about an old friend I used to chat with some 2 years before then. He was just an Orkut/internet pal. We knew each other’s interests , dislikes, hobbies and crushes! We ceased to talk after a while since we got busy with our own lives. I thought of dropping him a mail or something but kept postponing for some reason or the other.

One day I was working on my computer when I thought to myself, “Hey!! let’s send him a message now asking what he’s up to. He’ll be proud to know I’m the topper of my batch .” I opened my dormant Orkut page and checked his profile. His page was full of condolences and prayers and wishes. It took me a while to understand he passed away very recently in an unfortunate accident.

He wasn’t very important to me, but a loss is a loss. And I wish I had spoken to him the day I first thought of him. I would have never realised the above mentioned irony had this not happened.

I learnt a lesson, to cherish each moment, to live in the moment, to give importance to everyone in your life regardless of when was the last they shared a part of your life and last- to communicate with people who still hold value somewhere in your heart!

About Maya

Bored of the tedium and tired of the rut, I look for shelter in my imaginary hut; Behind these veils of propriety and decorum, I desperately seek a liberating forum; In my words and humor you'll find fire But beware and warned, It's all just Maya! Come, see my world through my window..

Posted on May 24, 2015, in General and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

