Gratitude

Entry for the “Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers” wpid-photo-20150524135809869 Sitting at one of farthest ends of the church, my gaze wandered – across the basilica, across people.

When I listened to feeble whispers, I wondered what each of them was thinking,

I saw a poor man asking for mercy;  A mother shedding a tear for her daughter’s demise.

I saw a rich man making a generous donation; A helpless beggar, slouched in a corner with moist eyes.

I saw a father teaching verses from the bible to his son.

A woman speaking to the priest, probably making a confession.

And I thought to myself, what is it am I here for? Is it to pray or to seek?

I look to my left, straight into the eye of my beloved. I hold his hand tightly, bring it to my lips and kiss it tenderly. And then I say to God- I thank you for letting me come here with nothing more to ask for!

About Maya

Bored of the tedium and tired of the rut, I look for shelter in my imaginary hut; Behind these veils of propriety and decorum, I desperately seek a liberating forum; In my words and humor you'll find fire But beware and warned, It's all just Maya! Come, see my world through my window..

Posted on May 30, 2015, in General and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I loved this story! This is brilliant! Welcome! We are happy you have found this challenge and have chosen to participate. We hope you will continue to do so. Your story is awesome.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow!! I loved how you built this up until that wonderful line at the end! Great job!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Brilliant!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

