Daily Quote-20

“In the midst of movement and chaos, Keep stillness inside of you”

– Deepak Chopra

I remember a story from the book Siddhartha by Herman Hesse. I quoted it below. It is not the exact words but I am typing from what I remember:

A saint once asks his follower to bring him water to drink. When the follower goes to the nearby river, he notices that a ferry has just passed, creating ripples and hence the water is muddy. He comes back and reports the same to the saint. After some time, the saint asks the follower to go check again. He comes back with the same reply- the water is muddy. When the follower finally could get clear water after checking multiple times, the saint politely asks him, what did you learn?

The moral being- external things always moves around us thus creating ripples and tension in our lives. Our soul may even become tense and troubled. Give it time- When left undisturbed for a while, the soul will find it’s peace within itself again.

I found this quote as well as the story highly inspiring! I hope you’ll find it useful too.

About Maya

Bored of the tedium and tired of the rut, I look for shelter in my imaginary hut; Behind these veils of propriety and decorum, I desperately seek a liberating forum; In my words and humor you'll find fire But beware and warned, It's all just Maya! Come, see my world through my window..

Posted on June 6, 2015, in General and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

