Random Musings #2

I came across these beautiful lines on Fb few days back and I instantly felt an urge to share it and write something about it.

“I want to live simply. I want to sit by the window when it rains and read books I’ll never be tested on.

I want to paint because I want to, not because I’ve got something to prove.

I want to listen to my body, fall asleep when the moon is high and wake up slowly, with no place to rush off to.

I want not to be governed by money or clocks or any of the artificial restraints that humanity imposes on itself. I just want to be boundless and infinite.”

inner_peace_by_mistytang-d3l85ih2

I know many people in my friend circle whose idea of a perfect life was to be famous and rich- followers all around you, people who consider you their idol. I have to admit even I was temporarily carried away by the same school of thought.

But deep down, I know that my perfect life – or the life that I wish for is quite different. I don’t want people setting high standards for me; or for anyone to restrict my creativity. I should be free to do whatever I want whenever I want.

Funny but very recently I mentioned this to a friend- how would my life be if I just run away from all of this and set up a quiet life in some remote place. I always imagine Sikkim to be that place, I don’t know why! I’ll probably set up a small café in one of these North Eastern place and operate this small business. Open a free school for the village kids. Sit by the mountain stream and sketch- not for showing it to anyone because let’s face it- I sketch bad! But because it gives me happiness. Lie down on the grass and fall asleep gazing at the star lit sky. Put out your hand from the window while it rains and feel the tiny droplets create a pattern on your skin. Stay alone and have time for yourself. Do something the society will remember you for.

Just thinking about it makes me feel so peaceful. It probably won’t even happen. Just that the idea is so pristine that dreaming about it is my best pass time.

But what is achievable is that wherever we are, we do things for our self. I never like to sing or dance in public. Agreed, I feel embarrassed. But when someone tells me, the world will never know how good you are unless you show them- my answer is always the same- I don’t do it for them, I do it because I like to.

I own a small sketch book and I show it people only if I want to. Else, it remains with me as my personal piece of art. People call me reserved, maybe untalented. But I know myself and that is more than enough for me to feel happy about myself!

I’m Maya Ghosh. I work in Chennai and stay in a quiet little place of my own. I like to sing and dance. I occasionally enjoy writing and sketching. I love listening to music and watching movies. I almost never switch on the television and I don’t easily get addicted to TV series- except maybe Friends! I’m an extreme introvert and I very carefully choose whom to let into my life, although I’m very friendly and affable.

So that’s a small intro for the few who spare a few minutes every day and read the crap that I write!

If you’ve made it till here, thanks for reading and being a part of my virtual space!

About Maya

Bored of the tedium and tired of the rut, I look for shelter in my imaginary hut; Behind these veils of propriety and decorum, I desperately seek a liberating forum; In my words and humor you'll find fire But beware and warned, It's all just Maya! Come, see my world through my window..

Posted on June 24, 2015, in General and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I really enjoy reading your daily quotes and this resonated deeply within me because I feel the same way about life. I don’t want to be chasing money my entire life, I mean what’s the point of that. ‘To live simply and happily’ is the best gift ever. And doing what you love doing, just for the heck of it and not because you expect to earn something from it. It’s a life I dream of too.

    Btw, I’ve always wanted to open up a bakery next to a beach, and to also be writing successful novels on the side 🙂 Won’t that be perfect! But unfortunately might never happen. The world around us forces us to always be running, and never to stop and savor ‘living’.

    When I took up French classes, the only question everyone asked me was “Why are you learning French? It won’t help in your career growth!” I’d reply, “Because I like French?” And they’ll look at me like I’m one crazy fellow! What has the world come to, seriously?

    P.S. You could just replace your name with mine in your intro and it would hold good for me too 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • True. I started learning French on my own- too bad I’m one lazy person! The world around has only two motives to achieve- learn something that you can earn a living with or something that helps you in marriage :P. Opening a bakery and writing a novel isn’t impossible. A bakery or shop is a business model- you can be a successful and socially approved business man. Writing a novel can follow anytime – can even happen now. I’m giving it a shot myself 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

