Daily Quote-32

“Never mind what others do; Do better than yourself, beat your own record from day to day, and you are a success.”

-William J.H. Boetcker

Now this is something that I lack. I generally tend to get a bit competitive- what’s the harm in a healthy competition. However, you tend to lose sight of your goal while competing. Speaking from experience, I skip improvising or perfecting in an attempt to win a self established chase. A very dear friend of mine keeps reminding me- that the real game is with me. The real fun is to challenge myself and the real win is when I beat myself and my own previous record.

Sounds very preachy and in some way very obvious. But to accept it and live your life this way isn’t as easy as it sounds. It is good to learn from others and drive a motivation from it. But never set someone else’s achievement as your benchmark. Do what you like, get inspired by whatever or whoever you want but when it comes to trying to get better than someone, that someone should be You.

About Maya

Bored of the tedium and tired of the rut, I look for shelter in my imaginary hut; Behind these veils of propriety and decorum, I desperately seek a liberating forum; In my words and humor you'll find fire But beware and warned, It's all just Maya! Come, see my world through my window..

Posted on June 25, 2015, in General and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

