The Wait

This post is an entry for Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers for this week.

picThanks Dawn M. Miller for the pic.

(160 words)

It was here that I met her two years ago, the same season, the same place, the same bench.

There was nothing unusual about her or about us but something peculiar that I can’t explain- it just made me talk to her.

We then met every day, discussing everything under the sky- music, movies, literature, travel, books, and nature. We never knew anything about each other except our names and opinions. We preferred to keep it that way. She was like a breath of fresh air- the most amazing thing to have happened to me!

Until one day, she never came back. I knew not where to find her, I knew not who to ask. All I had was her name and her memory.

It was here, that I met her two years ago, the same season, the same place, the same bench.

And I sit here, even today, on the same bench-waiting for her to come back.

******

I have a tendency to write something that is either romantic or utterly disappointing and depressing. Apologies for the same πŸ™‚

About Maya

Bored of the tedium and tired of the rut, I look for shelter in my imaginary hut; Behind these veils of propriety and decorum, I desperately seek a liberating forum; In my words and humor you'll find fire But beware and warned, It's all just Maya! Come, see my world through my window..

Posted on July 1, 2015, in General and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. This is wonderful! I loved it! I loved how you used the “the same season, the same bench, the same place.” Very well done! Welcome to Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers (FFfAW), we are very happy you have joined us and hope you have fun!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Awww! I love it. Hope she comes back!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Awww! I can feel his sadness and I hate it when you meet someone but forget to get their contact. Please come back.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Poetic and evocative. Loved it.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Great job! Yes, you accomplished writing a romantic and utterly disappointing, and depressing story of life! We all wish for happiness and great futures, but in reality, it doesn’t happen that way…we manage to have a mix of everything in our lives. Sometimes our life’s journey takes us where we don’t want to go.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Well done…. I suspect he is going to be waiting a great deal longer…. poor guy.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Hahaha, I don’t care, this is beautiful! Love this. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

