Daily Quote-43

I came across these beautiful lines few days back and couldn’t resist sharing.

“When nothing seems to work, I go look at a stonecutter hammering away at his rock perhaps a hundred time without as much as a crack showing in it. Yet at the hundred and first blow, it will split in two, and I know that it wasn’t the last blow that did it, but all that had gone before.”

-Jacob Riis

Isn’t that just out of the world? Philosophy is something all of us know, at some level, even preach. But the way even these little things are said leaves you awe-inspired.

There are times when I give up, sometimes after a lot of effort and sometimes way too easily. The stonecutter’s analogy just strikes a chord with me. Gives you something to learn from! I am henceforth, never giving up- even if I’m bad at something, I’ll continue doing it till I get better.

here’s one more from Jacob Riis that I loved- “Some defeats are only installments to Victory.”

About Maya

Bored of the tedium and tired of the rut, I look for shelter in my imaginary hut; Behind these veils of propriety and decorum, I desperately seek a liberating forum; In my words and humor you'll find fire But beware and warned, It's all just Maya! Come, see my world through my window..

Posted on August 6, 2015, in Daily Quote Series, General and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. nice article.

    Hey! Remember when the daily quotes used to be daily?

    hmm…

    Like

Leave a Reply

