Daily Quote-50

“We are not the same Persons this year as last; nor are those we love.

It is a happy chance if we, changing, continue to love a changed person.”

-W. Somerset Maugham

These lines are so profound. I must admit, that I started reading Maugham’s “Of Human Bondage”, because I was really impressed with this man’s profoundness. I won’t say love doesn’t exist or it is pointless to love anyone. But I guess the kind of expectations we have of one another is silly. We may love someone whole heartedly at some point, but sooner, we change, our priorities change. And even if we continue to feel deeply for the other person, it may not be the same as before. If we look closely, it probably will be the case with oneself too. This is no reason to cease to love though.

Love realistically maybe..

About Maya

Bored of the tedium and tired of the rut, I look for shelter in my imaginary hut; Behind these veils of propriety and decorum, I desperately seek a liberating forum; In my words and humor you'll find fire But beware and warned, It's all just Maya! Come, see my world through my window..

Posted on September 7, 2015, in Daily Quote Series, General and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

