Book Review- David Copperfield

This book is a must read for all Classic Fans. Irrespective of which Era you prefer, the 1800s, the 20th century writers or modern literature, classics have a different flavor and certain books must be read. Dickens is one such author.

Not that I don’t enjoy Modern writing. I read anything and everything; except Love stories. i don’t mind watching movies but reading love stories, strict No!

Charles Dickens writes huge books. Quick fact- he was paid by word, so the more number of words, the more he gets paid. Copperfield is relatively shorter and brilliant.I have established this previously that I enjoy character sketches. Hence Copperfield was a treat for me.

copperfield

Firstly, I really liked the name- of the book and the protagonist. Secondly, the book is one roller coaster ride. Ups and downs, shock, surprise, anger, happiness, sadness and you end up feeling great . < That’s not a spoiler by the way!>. There were a lot of places where I felt how profound this particular para is. But then I was so engrossed reading, that I didn’t feel like writing it down. Now that has been months since I completed the book, I don’t remember!

Below are notes from the book. They are very few. Typing them takes time and I was really enjoying reading.

1. Of all the times of mine that time has in his grip, there is none that in one retrospect I can smile at half so much , and think of half so tenderly.

2. Are tears the dewdrops of the heart?

3. There can be no disparity in marriage like unsuitability of mind and purpose

4. Hold me to your heart , my husband! Never cast me out! Do not speak or think of disparity between us, for there is none , except in all my many imperfections. Every succeeding year, I have known this better, as I have esteemed you more and more. Oh, take me to your heart, my husband, for my love was founded on a rock, and it endures!

5. Love is like The first mistaken impulse of an in disciplined heart

6. But sometimes when I took her up, and felt that she was lighter in my arms, a dead blank feeling came upon me, as if I were approaching to some frozen region yet unseen, that numbed my life. I avoided the recognition of this feeling by any name, or by any communing with myself; until one night, when it was very strong upon me, and my aunt had left her with a parting cry of ‘good night little blossom’, I sat down at my desk alone and tried to think, oh what a fatal name it was , and how the blossom withered in it’s bloom upon the tree!

7. Closer in my arms, nearer to my heart, her trembling hand upon my shoulder , her sweet eyes shining through her tears, on mine! ” I went away, dear Agnes, loving you. I stayed away, loving you. I returned home, loving you. ”

8. O Agnes, o my soul, so may thy face be by me when I close my life indeed; so may I, when realities are melting from me, like the shadows which I now dismiss, still find thee near me, pointing upward!

About Maya

Bored of the tedium and tired of the rut, I look for shelter in my imaginary hut; Behind these veils of propriety and decorum, I desperately seek a liberating forum; In my words and humor you'll find fire But beware and warned, It's all just Maya! Come, see my world through my window..

Posted on October 29, 2015, in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

